Skip navigation

I’m taking a few moments out of a very pleasurable experience on hold with a few US Airways representatives to share my experience, which you’ll be very happy to know about.

Brussels is conveniently located in the heart of Europe. It’s a gateway to the Swiss Alps and it’s home to lots of guilty pleasures, like beer. Athens is a warm, Mediterranean city. US Airways is going to fly to Athens starting sometime or other, and the woman in the recording sounds genuinely pleased about that!

The nice thing for me is that I have been listening to this tape loop for 26 minutes. The recording scared me at first, when it said I would only be on hold for two minutes. “So short!” I exclaimed, in my head. Well, I had nothing to worry about.

US Airways is there to make sure that my relaxation is not cut short. They were so eager to have me relax listening to their recording that, even after I spoke briefly to a person after about 24 minutes of holding, I was re-placed on hold, told again that I had only two minutes to go until a representative helped me, and it’s been, well, it’s been more than that already, but I’m not complaining! It sure is nice to have a friend like this woman tell me the same things over and over.

This is a great tape loop to be stuck in. I really like it. But I also loved how at-home the customer representative I did speak with made me feel. She literally made me feel like I was in HER home! How did she do this, you ask? She set the you’re-not-talking-to-some-corporate-representative tone by picking up the phone with a perfectly disarming “Hello?”

I loved it! Let’s dispense with all of this bureaucracy where I have to say “Thank you for calling,” or “Thank you for waiting” or anything like that. We’re all adults here. We don’t know each other, so why should we pretend? We shouldn’t! So? What’s it to ya? Hello?

It was a great conversation, and I was only too thrilled when it ended less than a minute later, and I was placed safely back on hold. Very classy airline.

That’s how you run an airline. None of this “bill of rights” crap like you see at JetBlue.

UPDATE:

I’m still on hold, thankfully! I was going to say it keeps getting better, but it doesn’t change at all…. But if you’re cynical, you might think that things are generally always getting worse. So if you find something this constant, this unchanging, this solid and reliable and seemingly permanent, that’s comparatively positive. Staying on hold with US Airways is like being part of something that’s getting better, just by staying the same! Anyway, my 41 minutes on hold so far are one thing, but i found someone who’s spent even longer on the phone, and that person has a great story to tell, too! If you have the time, you should read that. It’s inspiring.

Well done, US Airways!

3 Comments

  1. Here’s my experience with their customer service:

    http://www.usairwayslostmycostume.com

  2. Celyn – That’s easily the saddest thing I’ve ever read involving Venice and US Airways and lost luggage and costumes! It seems odd that I would be preparing (as I am) to call US Airways back to sit on hold to beg for the privilege of traveling on their planes again, so that I can increase the odds that my luggage will soon be lost, too. Seems like I could save myself the aggravation of sitting on hold and just go lose my luggage myself, right now.

  3. Customer service should be always at priority of any business that offers products or services. *`”:

    Please do have a look at our blog page
    http://www.prettygoddess.com


Leave a Reply

